Stacks Image 4616617
The Redwood Revenger (Book One)
    In 2043, Olivia Ermine survives The Great Warming safe in Cascadia, yet a maniacal woolen devil would see her dead. Her blood holds the key to the VanDirks Corporation’s domination of the planet, and they will stop at nothing to get it! Can she beat the rising tide? A darkly comedic, genre-bending journey through solarpunk sci-fi and science fantasy awaits.
    Things are great! The Great Warming has proceeded apace, Florida is a soggy nub aslither in pythons. The Great Erasure’s come and gone, the black mirror shattered and the Great Autarchy’s Regime with it. The murder2.0 networked smart-toaster surveillance state’s kaput, so are financial markets, digital records, and killer robots. Viva the Quantum Era! The Great Balkanization continues, the West Coast seceded. It calls itself the Cascadian Federation, a military and vertical farming empire powered by the sun. The border’s secure out to the old Highway 15 DMZ, where Cascadia ends and Montanastan begins, home to militias, dust, famines, mass crucifixions, denominational nut-jobbery, and the ravages of paleomegavirus.
    Olivia's left her chaotic globetrotting life behind and returned to her ancestral family home in Redwood, a charming Cascadian university town, a safe oasis in a turbulent world. Yet, the transition’s had a few quirks…disturbing dreams and now visions of a scruffy, saucer-eyed rogue-AI with a penchant for levitation and force fields. To make matters worse, she’s stalked by a murderous, straight razor wielding, dandified sock monkey. Meanwhile, VanDirks, a planetary fast-food mega-corp founded in the 1600s, in the slave trade, is after her famous uncle’s artistic legacy and just maybe her uncle too. 
    In the haze of thunderbud and fog, through time and tide, between land and sea, the earth and the stars, an ancient mystery seeks its revenge.

NOTE: The Redwood Revenger is the first book in the trilogy. Red Bush (The Redwood Revenger, Book Two) is also available. Red Root (The Redwood Revenger, Book Three) is coming in later 2020.

Stacks Image 4616730
Red Bush (The Redwood Revenger, Book Two)
    In 2043, Olivia Ermine’s legacy is vengeance. Will she take up the burden of the galaxy? When they come for her, heads will roll. In Redwood, rogue-AIs scheme and ancient ones plot the end of worlds, and some way off a llama orgles in the long night. A darkly comedic, genre-bending trip through solarpunk sci-fi and science fantasy continues.
    Out of the dust and death of The Great Warming, after The Great Balkanization ended the rule of the Great Autarch, a West Coast solar empire rises: The Cascadian Federation. VanDirks, a planetary fast-food mega-corporation spawned in the 1600s, aims to conquer the world, starting with Olivia. She must contend with its creature, a 352-year-old woolen murder machine in the form of a dandified, piratical sock monkey—it’s already tried to kill her thrice.
    Now, Olivia finally has some answers. She’s discovered Red Bush’s diaries from the 1690s, aka her formidable abolitionist Sephardi pirate queen ancestor. But, the diaries raise more dire questions about Olivia’s incandescently dark birthright and the impossible tasks set before her and her friends in 2043. The VanDirks Corp. thinks it’s playing the long game. Yet, vastly older, more powerful players may be moving pieces on an otherworldly board. Olivia knows she’s getting close to uncovering the truth, which in Redwood is an ever-shifting target.
    One fang points to heaven and the other to hell, either way, there’s a neck-ruff with Olivia’s name on it, for the show must go on before the Lords Arboreal return to Cascadia to settle a bloody old score.

Stacks Image 4616791
Red Root (The Redwood Revenger, Book Three)
    Olivia Ermine is safe no more and neither is her beloved Uncle Ernie—if the toe and ransom note written in, oh, blood are any clue. Redwood is ground zero for a galactic contest that will determine the Earth’s destiny and its place among the stars. The secret’s out and the monstrous events of 1700 could ignite the planet in 2043. Will the cycle of vengeance end when the fire’s out, or when there’s nothing left to burn? The thrilling conclusion to the trilogy’s darkly comedic, genre-bending voyage through solarpunk sci-fi and science fantasy.
    NO SLAVERS. NO RAIDERS. NO CANNIBALS. NO INFLUENCERS!” So reads the bullet-pocked half-meter high letters at the eastern Cascadian Federation checkpoint on the border of Montanastan. It’s one minute to midnight and the danger that lurks within Cascadia creeps outside its borders too. The Labors of Restoration continue with the hunt for the elusive electric buffelvel, and Olivia must get to the heart of the matter before it’s too late.
    The VanDirks Corp. and their confederates will go for broke while Redwood burns. In the meantime, Redwood’s First Cascadian community prepares for the end of all things, and a new beginning. For Olivia, strange bedfellows will make for strange alliances that could change everything, even on the dark side of the Moon.

Coming soon (later in 2020)
*(not the actual cover)

© 2020 Johannes Johns | Info/Contact | Privacy Policy